March of the Fossil Penguins

Fossil penguin discoveries and research

Fossil Penguins at DinoFest

with 3 comments

Recently I was invited to be a “DinoBite” speaker at the Utah Museum of Natural History’s Polar DinoFest. The event was held virtually his year due to COVID, but on the plus side that means I can post the whole talk on this blog. Check it out if you are interested in hearing about penguin evolution – and sorry for the sound quality, I had to tape this with my laptop!

Written by Dan Ksepka

February 22, 2021 at 4:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HI Dan- I am, watching your virtual talk from Polar Dinofest. I have a technical question. mHow do you switch from you talking to a slide of, say, modern penguins? I

    Thanks

    JP Cavigelli Tate Geological Museum Casper College 125 College Dr Casper, WY 82601 307.268.3008

    On Mon, Feb 22, 2021 at 1:09 PM March of the Fossil Penguins wrote:

    > Dan Ksepka posted: ” > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J0ji2sYD3hg&feature=youtu.be Recently I > was invited to be a “DinoBite” speaker at the Utah Museum of Natural > History’s Polar DinoFest. The event was held virtually his year due to > COVID, but on the plus side t” >

    Jean-Pierre Cavigelli

    February 22, 2021 at 4:37 pm

    • Thanks for watching! I actually can’t answer your question directly, because I simply provided the full clip of me talking filmed from my computer and my still image slides. The AV folks at the Utah Museum of Natural History edited everything to make it look professional.

      Dan Ksepka

      February 26, 2021 at 10:04 pm

  2. Excellent video! I’m studying the evolution of penguins for my class, and I adored your video! Very interesting the Lines of Arrested Growth. I didn’t know their existence.
    One question. How has climate change affected the evolution of penguins?
    60ma ago, the earth was warmer than it is now, and I’m curious about how penguins adapted over time.

    Thank you for the class, hugs from Brazil!

    Lucca Viana Aguiar

    October 7, 2022 at 1:56 am


Leave a comment