March of the Fossil Penguins

Fossil penguin discoveries and research

Penguins at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History

with 6 comments

This Wednesday (Feb. 12th), I will be heading to the Carnegie Museum of Natural History in Pittsburgh to give a talk about penguin evolution for the R.W. Moriarty Science Seminar Series  The talk is free and starts at noon. Stop by and say hello if you are in the area!

logo

Written by Dan Ksepka

February 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wish I could be there, Dan, break a leg!

    Paul D Brinkman

    February 10, 2014 at 8:02 pm

  2. Given the name of the seminar series, are you required to involve some evil criminal plan and engage in intellectual battle with Sherlock Holmes?

    220mya

    February 10, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    • That sounds like fun, but this Professor Moriarty is President of the Carnegie Discoverers.

      Dan Ksepka

      February 10, 2014 at 8:12 pm

  3. Oh dear, I wish I had known you were speaking at the Carnegie! If you’re ever in town again and conducting a talk on penguins, let me know – I might just show up with an African penguin in tow…
    (You visited the National Aviary in Pittsburgh a few years ago and had a great chat with me about African penguins — although I’ve followed your site since before that meeting!)
    Come and visit!

    Caitlin

    June 10, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    • Yes, I remember. Thanks for letting my students and I meet the penguins. I am now at the Bruce Museum in CT, feel free to visit – we even have one of your species hiding out in the collections.

      Dan Ksepka

      June 10, 2014 at 4:32 pm

      • Great! I pass through New England semi-regularly — I’ll let you know if I’m in town!
        Today I wowed some 2nd graders with the notion that there are 50+ species of fossil penguins out there with presumably more to uncover. Wouldn’t be surprised at all if you run into them as future paleontology students. Last week one of my coworkers got the challenging question in class of “How long have penguins been around and what’s the FIRST kind of penguin?” and even though that’s a really hard question to answer, I referred her here to brush up on fossil penguins. It’s amazing how much your blog comes in handy for us! Thank you and please keep up the great content!

        Caitlin

        June 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

